16 Comments
Feb 6, 2023Liked by Sue Quinn

I personally don’t like reels as they are too fast for me. I like taking the time reading a recipe or detailing a picture. I have never enjoyed watching any chefs on TV eating their creations so have zero interest in watching a stranger bite into a cake or slurp some broth on IG.

However I appreciate food photography but sadly I have noticed that recently lots of food writers or chefs have recently replaced their pictures with reels. I don’t have any patience for them.

Expand full comment

Good question and observation...several people I follow are now very close to the camera and eating noisily. And the do a very fast paced reel which is confusing and tiring. I guess the thinking is we’ve done videos of prepping the dish, cooking it (with recipe) so what’s left? Showing how delicious it is too eat!

Expand full comment

I don’t watch or make reels like this. I’m really not there for that

Expand full comment
Feb 6, 2023Liked by Sue Quinn

No, I don’t like watching people eat. To be honest, I find it all a bit messy, as I do empty dirty plates and those overflowing mugs of ice cream etc with drips down the side. I don’t want to make this content either. (cooksdiaries on Instagram at the moment)

Expand full comment

Interesting! I personally don't like this kind of content and don't plan to create any. I wasn't aware that the algorhythm was driving this, thanks for the info. I guess it's all about the charm of "soft p*rn" lol

Expand full comment