Meetings and mentoring

Interested in taking your food writing career forward? Is your ambition to write a cookbook but don’t know where to start? Need help polishing your cook book proposal? With almost 20 years’ experience in the food writing business, and 15 cookbooks with my name on them, I can help.

There are two ways I do this.

Meetings. I’m now offering the chance to chat to me and pick my brain about all aspects of food writing, from how to pitch ideas and get things published, to how to craft a cook book proposal. Really, I’ll answer any questions you have about food writing and how to break into the industry. I won’t be teaching food writing per se, although I will give feedback on a piece of work and I can certainly recommend those in the industry who do brilliant food writing classes. My fee for this is £150 for an hour-long consultation, which includes a review of a piece of your work (a proposal or article up to 2000 words) after our meeting and brief written feedback.

Mentoring. I’m offering two mentoring places to talented writers who lack opportunities due to mental health issues, disability, health or social circumstances, or from underrepresented backgrounds. The mentoring will include 1 hour per month for six months during which time I hope to help build your confidence, offer strategies and give feedback on your writing. Applications for the first round will close on September 10, 2023 and then re-open in 6 months.

If you’re interested in either of these, please email me at suequinn@substack.com with either mentoring or meetings in the subject line.

Both of these opportunities are for subscribers (paid or free, it doesn’t matter) so please sign up before you get in touch. Just hit the subscribe button below.

I look forward to chatting!

Warm wishes,

Sue